September 8, 2016

Blog Tour: Web of Deceit by Catherine Lanigan

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Web of Deceit
by Catherine Lanigan
Adult Historical Romance
ebook, 462 pages
June 4th 2016 by Cat Nolan Publishing

A Passion she could not deny—A lie she could never escape—

From the depths of a London slum, Amanda Granger created an illusion of wealth and breeding that became her passport into New York society. With her dazzling beauty and the ease with which she lived her lie, Amanda captivated an adoring public and drove men to bold and dangerous passions.

But for all her fierce ambition, all her daring dreams, Amanda Granger knew that her heart’s desires were held together by the fragile threads of deception and secrets. Triumph would always be elusive until she escaped from her web of deceit.


“I’ve come for Eloise’s hair ribbons.”

“I have them here,” Mrs. Bird said, withdrawing six palest pink satin ribbons from a wooden box.

Amanda inspected them and wrinkled her nose. “Much too pale for Eloise. She needs more color near her face. Let me see the ice blue ones.”

“Amanda, I don’t think it wise to make decisions without your employer’s permission.”

“Tonight is the Queen’s birthday ball. There will be two hundred and fifty debutantes coming out this year. Eloise must look her best. This blue will make her eyes more lively.”

Mrs. Bird burst into laughter. “Nothing could put spark into that girl’s eyes!” Then, suddenly remembering the Kents’ position and their very good patronage of her store when they could easily choose to go elsewhere, Mrs. Bird said protectively: “I think you should get the pink. That’s what she ordered.’

“No, the blue is better. And let me see those matching lace gloves.”

“Amanda! Lady Kent did not authorize you to buy gloves.”

“They will complete the outfit. Eloise will look wonderful. Wrap them up.”

“I don’t like this.”

Amanda signed the bill and then took the receipt and box that Mrs. Bird had tied with string. “It’ll be all right. You’ll see.” Arnanda smiled with assurance, but it wasn’t until she was out on the sidewalk again that she felt her heart resume beating.

She was taking a great risk at further upsetting Lady Kent. But Amanda was counting on the customary weekend bustle in Kent Manor to deflect any confrontations.

By the time Amanda reached Regent Street, the sun was completely up. She whisked through the lacy wrought-iron gate, ran through the precisely manicured gardens to the back of the imposing four-story brick house to the back door that led four steps down to the kitchens, butler’s pantry and servants quarters.

“You’re fifteen minutes late!” Georgia, the red-haired, obese cook snarled as she hastily slammed a ladleful of porridge into a china bowl and put it on a wicker tray.


Catherine Lanigan is the international bestselling and award-winning author of forty published titles in both fiction and non-fiction, including the novelizations of Romancing the Stone and The Jewel of the Nile, as well as over half a dozen anthologies, including “Chicken Soup for the Soul: Living your Dream”, “Chicken Soup for the Writer’s Soul”, and more. Ms. Lanigan’s novels have been translated into dozens of languages including German, French, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Chinese, and Japanese. Ms. Lanigan’s novels are also available in E-books on and Barnes and, Apple Store, Mobi and Kobo. Several of her titles have been chosen for The Literary Guild and Doubleday Book Clubs. Her Vietnam war-based novel, The Christmas Star, won the Gold Medal Award Top Pick from Romantic Times Magazine and has also won Book of the Year Romance Gold Award from ForeWord Magazine as well as Book of the Year Romance from Reader’s Preference.

Lanigan is the author of a trilogy of non- fiction books regarding angelic intervention in human life: Angel Watch, Divine Nudges and Angel Tales published by HCI and Cedar Fort.

Skyhorse published Lanigan’s “how-to” book on writing: Writing the Great American Romance Novel.

Lanigan was tasked by the NotMYkid Foundation to write a non-fiction book addressing teen addictions. Ms. Lanigan’s first Young Adult adventure novel, The Adventures of Lillie and Zane: The Golden Flute, was published by Cedar Fort.

Currently, she has published six novels in the Shores of Indian Lake series for Harlequin Heartwarming: Love ShadowsHeart’s DesireA Fine Year for LoveKatia’s Promise and Fear of FallingSophie’s Path pubs July, 2016. She has recently contracted for three more in the series: Danger ZoneWedding for Isabelle and A Bride for Mica.

As a cancer survivor, Ms. Lanigan is a frequent speaker at literary functions and book conventions as well as inspiring audiences with her real stories of angelic intervention from her Angel Tales series of books. She is an outspoken advocate for domestic violence and abuse and was honored by The National Domestic Violence Hotline in Washington, D.C. (THE EVOLVING WOMAN). She has been a guest on numerous radio programs including “Coast to Coast” and on television interview and talk show programs as well as blogs, podcasts and online radio interview programs.

Tour Giveaway

$50 Amazon eGift Card

Open internationally

Ends October 1st

Grab Our Button!

No comments:

Post a Comment